Writing to the future…

 

railroad tracks - 1At the library that I volunteer at they do a purge of old, damaged, or unused books and give them away to library goers. This helps make room for the ever increasing numbers of new books.

There was one that sort of seemed interesting so I brought it home to read. What fascinated me was that the book was over forty years old and it was still a great story. I looked up the author on-line and found she is over a hundred and still alive as I write this. In her career she’s written over 50 novels.

Can you imagine your work being read forty years from now? What a delightful thought that somewhere in the foggy future what we write today may still be entertaining and dear to someone!

So what makes a story last? Think about the books and movies you’ve seen and followed. What makes them worth “another sequel?” I’m a die-hard Trekkie. I loved the first series, hokey as it seems now with all the tech stuff we expect. I couldn’t wait for the movies, all of them right to the latest ones. Why? There was such a clever mix of action, humor and science that you could love it for that, but beyond that the characters blended and interacted in such an endearing way that they became people (or critters) you wanted to know. I’m hoping there is something beyond “Beyond.”

In a world that is changing in between heartbeats, it’s hard to write timeless things. Disney writers do it well with their children’s stories because in the world of fantasy there is room for imagination. That is a little of why I wrote my science fiction trilogy. It is set sort of in the past and current time and future. It worked pretty well by not actually naming a specific date. I gave hints but not like I do when I’m writing historical fiction. In writing historical fiction you have to be clear about the timelines.

Here’s hoping that what ever you and I write in the future, we’re able to make our work last. Maybe in forty years someone will pick up our book and wonder enough about usto look us up on-line. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

