Who said that?

parrot - 1

“What you see and what you hear depends a great deal on where you are standing. It also depends on what sort of person you are.”    C.S. Lewis

When you start out with an idea of what you want to write you have to choose a perspective. It let’s you know the way your reader is seeing the story. Are they seeing it from your viewpoint only? “I saw a bus coming down the street. I noticed the driver was not in the right lane. My first thought, of course was my own safety.” Or are you looking at the scene from a character’s mind. “Jill stood on the corner, waiting impatiently for her bus. When the bus came into view, she noticed it wasn’t in the proper lane.” Or are you taking a bird’s eye view? “There were several people at the bus stop waiting for the bus. When it finally could be seen coming down the street, it appeared to be in the wrong lane.”

Almost all of my novels are character driven. I like this format because it allows me to change characters and give them lives in the story. If you haven’t played with these things you might like to take the first scenario that you can find in the menu bar. Try it and see what you feel works best for what you’ve written.

A new book I just read was “Sleeping Giants” by Sylvain Neuvel. I thought it was a very creative and imaginative piece of science fiction. He was wrote it in an interview style interspersed with a few character perspective diary entries. It was the first time I’d read a book presented like that and I thought was very innovative. There are so many ways to present perspective.

Have fun with your writing, it never should be a chore. I’ve come to love writing so much that I’ve had to put a kitchen timer by my computer so I don’t forget to stand up every thirty minutes or so and walk around the room to improve my circulation.

It’s not work when you make it enjoyable and keep learning new things.

Leave a Reply

