A writer writes, if you want to be a writer, write.

Welcome to my blog.  If you are visiting you probably have an interesting in writing or are a writer yourself. I wrote my first novel in 2007 and have learned a lot over the last few years that I’m happy to share with you about the writing experience from my perspective . I’m not an expert and don’t promote myself as one, just a traveler on this road who has discovered a few things.

Let me tell you a little about myself. I’m a retired civil servant. My jobs, and there were many, usually included such things as grant writing, developing training programs, writing press releases and creating newsletters. I did take a short story course once upon a time, but really never had time to do anything about it. I am also a published photographer and have illustrated children’s books. It wasn’t until I retired that I was able to put in the work to write novels.

From time to time people ask me things like what inspires me, how to begin, where to get their work published and so on. That is why I decided to start this blog, which I hope you will enjoy.

So why write? Think about your life. As a toddler you were shown things that had words attached to them. As soon as you could name a thing, you could ask for it. Soon you were able to let your needs be known for food, care and all sorts of things. When you hit school age you learned that words would be applied to learning, the basics of “reading, writing and arithmetic.” That is something we’ll go into later, because that is still the boot camp for writing.

I will acknowledge that there are those writers out there who went to school to learn the craft and they will probably have more opportunities because of that to write sellable material. Editors seem to like a list of great sounding credentials. Most of us, however, were doing something else before we decided to write the “Great American Novel” as they say. I say novel meaning fiction. I think non-fiction books are a bit different to write because usually if you write one about “tying flies,” you do that and can teach it. And more importantly, currently there is a larger market for non-fiction books. True, even non-fiction writers must write a readable book besides including the technical data, which takes talent. Fiction just requires other skills and imagination.

At some point in our lives we realized how important words are, especially the written ones. I was reading a bio of Shakespeare the other day. It was amazing that his work has survived, even flourished since the 1500’s when he wrote his famous poems and plays. Wouldn’t it be fun and amazing to have something of yours be a classic in the year 2600?

Of course there is work that must be done to pursue any adventure. Writing requires a willingness to do that work. Whether it is research, putting in the time, having your work edited, taking the pressure of being critiqued, and/or rejected. We’ll talk more about those things another day.

In a later blog post I’ll talk about the new world of publishing options. The pros and cons of each.

There is a saying and I have found it to be true, “Success only comes before work in the dictionary.”

If you are aspiring to be a writer you have to be able to see the story in any situation.

I thought it would be fun to have a little exercise each week to spur your imagination.

My mind never stops creating stories. Sometimes I write down a little outline and flesh it in later. We’ll talk more about style in the coming weeks, but for now  there is a scenario in menu above that is the first exercise if you’d like to try it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

